On Risk, Credit Reports, and Struggles

"The biggest risk of all is not taking one." & "What are you willing to struggle for?"

read time: 4 minutes

🧠Goat Quote

"The biggest risk of all is not taking one."

Mellody Hobson

🪙Two Cents

Did you know there’s a difference between a credit score and a credit history?

A credit report is a detailed summary of your credit history. It includes information about your credit accounts, payment history, and any negative marks such as late payments, bankruptcies, or collections. Lenders and credit card companies use this information to evaluate your creditworthiness and decide whether to approve your credit applications.

To check your credit report, you can go to annualcreditreport.com, which is a government-mandated website that provides free credit reports from the three major credit bureaus (Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion) once a year.

It's important to check your credit report regularly to make sure that the information is accurate and up to date. If you find any errors or inaccuracies, you can dispute them with the credit bureau to have them corrected.

Your credit score is calculated based on the information in this report.

❗Lessons Learned

I’ve learnt to ask myself not “What am I excited to do?” but instead “What am I willing to struggle for?” when picking a new endeavor. I’ve seen many people start something and quit in a matter of weeks because things become ‘too hard’. I encourage you to find enjoyment in the hardships in whatever it is you choose to pursue . Here’s a quote by Mark Manson I keep saved on my computer as a constant reminder:

"Who you are is defined by what you're willing to struggle for. People who enjoy the gym are the ones who run triathlons and have chiseled abs and can bench press a small house. People who enjoy long workweeks and the politics of the corporate ladder are the ones who fly to the top of it. People who enjoy the stresses and uncertainties of the starving artist lifestyle are ultimately the ones who live it and make it"

📝Featured Blog Article

With the struggles you choose to pursue, it’s also important to help find a good mentor that will help guide you. Having a mentor helps shorten your learning curve, get a reality check, and gain specific industry knowledge. Here’s an article I wrote to share how you can look for a mentor.

Rad Recs

If you feel like you’re in your head a lot, bothered by what others think of you, and are struggling with constant unimportant reminders, this book is for you. In fact, this book is a must for anyone in college or just starting out their career. I know it gave me a lot of perspective on the true important things in life. Plus Mark Manson has a way with words that I know you’ll enjoy 🙂 

Was it useful? Help us improve!

With your feedback, we can improve the letter. Click on a link to vote:

P.S: I work hard to keep all the content on my website and my newsletters free so that it's accessible for everyone, but if you want to help support my writing endeavors, you can buy me a coffee.

Thank you for reading on! If you know any friends, family, or colleagues that would benefit from these insights, please feel free to share this newsletter with them! If this email was forwarded to you, consider subscribing to receive them in the future!

Join the conversation

or to participate.