Tuesday Tea-Time: Is taking risks sexy?

with: dragon well long jing tea

The sun is shining, the birds are chirping, and I’ve officially moved into a semi-permanent apartment in NYC! This move was something I wanted for 2+ years. I wanted it sooo bad. To be young, free, and a remote-worker in your 20s in New York is the DREAM. I knew exactly 4 people when I moved to NYC and some people, like my parents, think of this move as such a bold, risky one. And that’s exactly what I want to talk to you about today: risk. What an interesting word and concept.

Before we dive in, let me tell you about my latest green tea obsession: Dragon Well Tea (also known as Long Jing). These tea leaves have a a jade-like color, vegetative aroma, chestnut-like flavor and a feather-like shape. It’s so smooth, so good, not too bitter, just perfect the way it is.

Fun fact: green teas cool your body down and are the perfect beverage for hot summer days. If you’re interested in trying this one out, reply to my email and I’ll send you a sample!

🫖 Are you risk-prone or risk-averse?

Last night I went to a professional event where the topic of conversation was taking risks. First question being: “Would you consider yourself risk-prone or risk-averse?” After some thought, people immediately asked “compared to what?” because risk is in comparison to someone or something or maybe society’s concept of risk. And I believe the first people you compare yourself to when you talk about risk is either your immediate family or close friend group.

A lot of times, work places will ask you this exact same question trying to gauge how you would respond in certain situations. This is when saying you’re a risk-taker sounds sexy. But at the end of the day, risk is relative and you have to ask yourself: what’s the biggest risk you’ve taken for yourself?

🦘 What’s the biggest risk you’ve taken?

Think back on the last 2-3 years. MAX. What was the biggest risk you took? How did it make you feel? What lesson did you learn from it?

During the professional event, most people’s stories went a little bit like this:

Step 1: I was very scared
Step 2: I took this huge risk
Step 3: I’m so glad I did because I learned x, y, and z and it helped me so much.

Typically, those are the stories you do hear. What people learn and how amazing it actually was to take a risk.

In full-radhika fashion, let me share my story and offer a different perspective:

I 100% consider myself a risk-taker, compared to how I grew up, to my family, to my friends, and even society in some ways. You can argue that investing in real estate at the age of 23 was risky. You could argue that moving to a state with 0 friends and family was risky. You could argue that jumping of an airplane for skydiving when I was 19 was risky. To me - that was just living life. The risk I want to share with you today, is one I’m not glad I took.

Most of you are familiar with this story. This is about the time I did everything in my power to be at a Fintech Startup. I put in my all, did everything I could to make it happen. I didn’t have an ideal background for this role, but of course that didn’t stop me. I quit my very amazing corporate job for this dream of a Fintech job. I wanted to be that girl that killed it at Fintech which would then go to start her own Fintech company. Fully fearless.

Two weeks into my role, I realized this company I was at was filled with not-so-good people. People that were all the -ists. People that didn’t treat each other like humans. Oh god did the fear creep up on me. There were no lessons I learned from this. I was never glad I took this risk.

When I shared this with the professional committee, the one thing they responded with: the missing piece is time. This decision will make sense 10 years from now. But for now, my steps looked something like this:

Step 1: I was very scared (quitting my amazing job, trying something new)
Step 2: I took this huge risk
Step 3: I’m NOT glad at all because everything I learned was about not what to do.

In fact, looking back, I learned exactly what kind of leader I don’t want to be. Exactly what kind of company culture I don’t want to have. Exactly what kinds of people I never want to hire. In hindsight - that is truly an experience that was unique.

📖 Why does any of this matter?

I share my story and a typical ‘risk-taking’ story for one reason and one lesson I learned: being risk-taking is being an independent thinker.

Whether you like to jump off of bridges or not - knowing your thoughts and sticking to them is what makes you a risk taker.

Be sexy in your own way. In fact - let me share another story 👇️ 

💡 Being an Independent Thinker

Do you think partaking in drugs is risky?

Society and most people would say yes. Conventionally taking drugs is very risky and taking risks is very sexy. However, if you say no to drugs and are confident in your stance on not partaking in drugs, then you are being independent in your thought process. And what you’re risking by saying no is not belonging. From that perspective, the choice of not-belonging is risky.

📝 Closing Notes

Just wanted to share some food for thought! Would love all your replies, thoughts, comments on the biggest risk you’ve taken and what you’ve learned from it. Just click ‘reply’ to this email 😀 

Reply

or to participate.